Julian Barnes, The Sense of an Ending

You know when you see a book in the library and think ‘Hmm… this is supposed to be a really good book so perhaps I should read it’ or something along those lines? Well, that was the reason I borrowed The Sense of an Ending. It won the Booker Prize in 2011 and as I saw it on the shelf just after I’d finished Keri Hulme’s Bone People, I hoped for another winner.

And it was but only sort of.

It is a very interesting book. It’s a very clever book. It seemed very calculated and mathematical which made it very interesting. The story itself was a bit bland – it wasn’t sensational or radically different. It was the perspective and the thoughts of the narrator which fascinated me. In that reminded me of another book which I still haven’t worked out. Perhaps Tom McCarthy’s Remainder? Or maybe even Muriel Spark’s The Girls of Slender Means? David Lodge perchance. I don’t really know.

Strangely, though, I don’t have very much to say about it which in itself is very interesting. Usually, as you will know from previous posts, I ramble a lot about sometimes very different aspects of a book. Yet here, with a book which won such accolades as the Booker Prize and the Costa Prize, I’m a bit stuck for words.

You read – and tell me what you think, seeing as the impression I got was obviously not worth talking about.

Leave a Reply

